MR2World

MR2 Tech Forum

Replacement convertible top for 2003 MR2 Spyder

AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

Craigj3534 Craig Johnson
Randolph, New Jersey, USA   USA
Hi; I'm a newbie to this board and wondered if anyone can provide some advice regarding purchasing and installing a replacement convertible top.

1) In looking at replacement tops on line they seem to come in two types: a vinyl version in the $400-$500 range and a composite type in the $700 range (e.g., "The topping fabric is a first quality Haartz Stayfast, a three-ply composite made of an acrylic square weave outer fabric, an rubber inner layer and a cotton lining.) Which is most similar to the original factory top?

2) What brand/source would you recommend?

Thanks!

Craig

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
Workjaguar David Mcgee
Apopka, Florida, USA   USA
Wow it has been 2 years and no one posted an answer?

Craigj3534 Craig Johnson
Randolph, New Jersey, USA   USA
That's right. No one ever responded. I finally got a new top put on this last spring (2016). It's a canvas composite version, installed by a local auto upholsterer which did all the replacements for the local Toyota dealer. $1,600 all-in for the top, installation & taxes.

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
Workjaguar David Mcgee
Apopka, Florida, USA   USA
Thanks for your reply , I have been quoted from 1300.00 to 2800.00. Most seem to be in th 1500.00. Dollar range. Have seen some tops for $500.00 but have heard the installation by individuals is a little tricky. I have installed a MGB top or two but these sound more challenging,

awins Andrew Winsor
Bellingham, Massachusetts, USA   USA
I bought our 2004 for my wife's 50th. It needed a top but it was a unique cranberry color. My wife works for a toyota dealership and she is all about OEM.